21 Days and a heartbeat

That was something new I learned today.  That 21 days after conception, a baby has a heartbeat.  Interesting isn’t it.   That was one of the many things that I said today to women that were being brought by family and so-called friends to one of the local abortion mills here in Montgomery.   One after one, young women arrive with the idea that they are fixing a problem.   As they arrive and pull up to park,  Amber, John and I try to give them some literature that properly informs them on the state of the human life inside of them.  Some take it, some don’t.

Beacons Women Center Montgomery Al. The rule as I am old that the clinic workers will not let them take it inside.  We try as well to get them to talk about the decision they are making, that prayerfully they would reconsider and choose life.  We have no magic wand or words that can make them see what they are doing.  We just pray for them and that God will use us or anyone as an instrument to change there mind.

Like many days, it was hot.  The sun was beating down on us and our lips had become chapped.  The heat did not keep the people home.  The volunteers today were John and Amber. As a few of us were talking, another car arrives.  In the front passenger seat was a young girl that was brought there by her friends.   Each of us try to start a conversation with them and speak truth to them.  We told them the dangers of abortions and the consequences of the years to come.   They paid us little attention.    It appeared to me that the young girl getting the abortion had been brought there by friends.

I questioned her friends on what a true friend was.  Would a friend really bring her here to kill her baby?  She yelled back at me a few comments, becoming angry.  I told her that if she really cared for her she would encourage her to do something else.  We told them of a place that could help them and even take care of her and her kids for up to 2 years.  She just walked her friends up to the entrance.    I made a point that if her mother wanted to jump off a bridge, would you drive her to the bridge?  She exploded with more rants and went inside.

Not long afterwards, the two friends exited the clinic and went to there car.  I tried to explain to the women that I was not trying to be harsh but trying to get them to see the seriousness of what was actually taking place.  I did not get much of a reaction.

I dusted my feet off and went and joined Amber and John close by.  Car after car, young girl after young girl we continued to do our best to change the minds of all we could.  At one point Amber and I caught John talking to the girls in the car.    A short time later, John comes walking my way and tells me that the lady that got angry at me wanted to talk to me.  I approached the car and the lady apologized.   They made statement that they understood what we were trying to do but only offered excuses for being there.   I took the subject off of abortion for a minute and tried to speak the ladies on the consequences of sin and what may seem right to us is not always right.   I could tell that they were not really listening so I gave them a tract and told them to read it and thanked them for listening.

A little time passed and the girl went back inside the clinic and exited with their friend that was getting the abortion.  We  watched as they talked and began to pray.  To much our enjoyment the girls had changed their minds and apparently convinced their friend to leave the place and not get an abortion.  We ll thanked them for their decision and gave them some information if they needed help of any kind. They then left.

Going to the clinic is sometimes like digging a big hole. You dig and dig hoping to get a treasure.   You come back the next day just to find your hole filled it.  It can be overwhelming.  So much to do with so few hands.

I always though that witnessing or going to abortion clinic protesting was a job for someone else.   The truth is that is is all our responsibility.   If we see something wrong and do nothing to fix it, what does that say about us?   Consider coming out one day.  You don’t have to say a word, just pray or hold a sign.  Whatever, the fact is that we all can do something.

Join us next Thursday, 12 noon Beacons Women Center off of Monticello Drive.   Come and do something!

Please pray for the girl and that she does keep her baby and for salvation.

Lighting the darkness,

David


Leave a comment