Have you gotten over JESUS?

jesusLook at my new baby! Look at my ring! See my new car!  Jesus saved me!

There are times and instances that occur in our lives that leave us wanting to tell everyone. Such as the couple who just had their first baby, the young lady who is newly engaged and wants to show off her engagement ring, or the teen who got their first car and cannot wait to show all their friends. These are instances that for at least a few weeks or so, they are the highlight of one’s life and the world must know of them.

Then there is the greatest event to occur in a believers life. Jesus saves them! For a period, they are on top of the mountain, full of joy, reading their bible daily, the first one in church when the doors are open, they are praying and hopefully telling others how Jesus saved them and how He can do the same for them too. Then they come off the mountain.  Jesus isn’t new anymore, people do not want to hear about Him, you see others believers who have been saved longer with no joy, no desire to tell others and you loose your zeal. After time, you just get over the fact that Jesus saved you. The greatest miracle to occur in your life looses its flame.

In an article by Chuck Lawless, Professor of Evangelism & Missions at Southwestern Seminary, he list Nine Reasons Christians Don’t Evangelize.  Of all the reasons given, he says one reason is that,

We’ve gotten over our salvation. When Jesus becomes routine to us – that is, our passion for Him has settled into mediocrity – we won’t readily tell others about Him.”

I have a trouble with this among all other reasons he gives. The greatest event to occur in a believers life, and how do we get over JESUS!  Look at who Jesus is and what He has done!  People have asked me what happened to me to make me the way I am. It is simple. Jesus saved me. Jesus took a filthy sinner who wasn’t looking for Him and found me. He took away my sins, changed my heart, He loved David when David did not deserve to be loved.

I have often prayed to the Lord this one question. “Why do you love me Lord?” He doesn’t have to respond with a reason. He loves me because He loves me. That is it! How can I get over the fact that He saved me?

Consider that Peter never got over breakfast with the Lord. Even later in life and death on an upside down cross, he never got over the fact that Jesus saved him.

Paul in chains sang to the Lord and counted all he had learned as “rubbish” to that of knowing Jesus Christ. He never got over the fact that JESUS saved him.

Jim Elliot, missionary to the Huaorani people of Ecuador, killed trying to take them the gospel. Risked his life so they could hear of Jesus. It wasn’t just his love for these people that made him consider his life not his own, it was his love for his Lord.  He too never got over the fact that Jesus saved him.

I could go on and on of people in the bible and history who lead lives that never got over the fact that Jesus saved them. Let me emphasize something clearly  saints, “We get over new cars, engagements, and even the cute faces of our newborn babies, but we should not get over the fact that Jesus, God in the flesh saved us!”

So how is your walk dear friend? Have you forgotten what God did for you? Have you gotten over the fact that JESUS saved you?

So that all may know Him,

David

Leave a Reply

